Referee Assessment


There are seven assessor grades:

  • Grade 13 – Emeritus National Assessor
  • Grade 9 – Associate Assessor
  • Grade 7 – Associate Assessor
  • Grade 6 – Provisional State Assessor
  • Grade 5 – State Assessor
  • Grade 5 – Provisional National Assessor
  • Grade 3 – National Assessor

The State Director of Assessment is responsible for developing an assessor network that meets the needs of the State Referee Association.Â

Provisional National Assessors and National Assessors are selected by the U.S. Soccer Referee Department.Â


Assessments can be both formal and informal.  Informal assessments, known as development and guidance assessments, are completed using a carbon copy form.  These assessments offer general performance feedback and the triplicate form provides a record for the official, assessor and the State Director of Assessment.Â

Formal assessments are required for grade maintenance and upgrade.  These assessments follow specific criteria and must be completed online by the assessor.  All online assessments are completed in the U.S. Soccer GameOfficials Assessment System and can be accessed by the official, assessor, State Director of Assessment, State Referee Administrator and the U.S. Soccer Referee Department.Â